These haunted allergy-friendly rice krispies will be the delight of any Halloween party. Easy and no bake–they only require a few additional items to make them come alive. These Frankenstein Krispies are free of gluten, dairy, egg, soy, peanut & tree nuts. Top 8 free and a vegan option too!
This post contains affiliate links.
I have been SOOO excited to make these. There are some recipes that you just know you’re going to have a fun time making, and a fun time eating.
I made these while my son was at school. When I met him at his bus stop, I told him I had a treat for him. I think he’s used to it, so he was merely like, “OK.” BUT…then I showed him these and he genuinely went: “WHOA! How did you make those?!”
I’ve taken some to three different neighbors and each reaction has been pretty much the same.
I really am getting into Halloween more and more every year–I’m sort of a late bloomer. And, while I don’t like creepy, gross looking food–I do love CUTE Halloween food. And this is sooo cute…and best of all EASY to make.
Rice krispies are one of the easiest no bake snacks on the earth. Add some food coloring and dairy-free chocolate and you’re in business. No fancy tips or anything special needed.
ALLERGY-FRIENDLY CANDY EYE BALL OPTIONS:
I get asked this the most, so let’s get down to business: I could only find edible candy eyes that had gelatin in them. If you’re vegan, I found this homemade recipe for you. I always say we’re accidentally vegan since my son is allergic to dairy and eggs–but since he can do gelatin we did the Betty Crocker brand and we’ve done the Wilton brand too. Or, you could always put the plastic kind on and simply not eat them…up to you! Be sure if you’re vegan that you use appropriate marshmallows too. If you need to see what marshmallows have dairy or other allergens, you can see my comparison chart!
These allergy-friendly Frankenstein Krispies would work great for Halloween parties or just for a festive treat for neighbors like I did–mostly so my family doesn’t eat them all. And, because I got “booed” by one of my neighbors–you know where they give you a treat and then you have to turn around and “boo” aka pick two new neighbors to do the same thing too? I think it’s a super fun neighborhood game–but it took me like three weeks for me to do it. I’m the worst! Sorry dear neighborhood! Hence why I tried to do something homemade and cute to make up for my late timing. #NeverGettingPickedAgain
I hope these help any of your party guests enjoy this treat as they’re allergy-friendly and so gosh-darn-cute. I think the only improvement to Frankenstein’s looks is a big bite taken out of him like below. Happy and SAFE Halloween everyone!
- In a large saucepan over medium-low heat, place your coconut oil.
- Once it is melted, add your bag of marshmallows. Stir until the marshmallows have melted and your mixture is smooth. Add in the green food coloring to your liking.
- Add in the cereal and stir until all of the cereal is coated.
- Pour the cereal into a greased 13x9 pan. Wet your hands and press it until it is flat and molded to the pan's shape.
- Allow it to cool while you make Frankenstein's hair (the chocolate dipping).
- In a microwave-safe bowl, put the dairy-free chocolate chips and shortening in it. Microwave for 30 seconds at a time, stopping to stir each time until the chocolate is completely melted.
- Cut the cooled cereal into rectangles (mine made 12). Reshape as necessary after cutting and removing from the pan.
- Dip the top of the rectangle into the chocolate, knocking off any excess. Place it on a pan that is lined with parchment paper or wax paper so it does not stick. Finish doing this to each of the rectangles.
- Take the rest of the melted chocolate and place it in a zip top baggie. Snip a tiny corner of the bag. Squeeze out a straight line to form Frankenstein's mouth.
- Dip each of the eyeballs into the chocolate, just coating the back side of them. Place two eyeballs on each Frankenstein.
- Allow the chocolate to harden (this can be rushed if they're placed in the fridge.)
- Serve and enjoy!
*Be sure to use vegan marshmallows if you're serving this to a vegan. If not, regular marshmallows are great. Unfortunately, I have yet to find a vegan marshmallow that doesn't use soy. So, you'll need to check out my other allergy friendly Halloween treats if you're a soy-free vegan. If you find a soy-free-vegan-marshmallow, let me know. If you can do gelatin/non-vegan marshmallows, regular Kraft marshmallows are soy free. We've even used the Great Value brand with no problems, as we can have gelatin.
Regular (or generic brands) of rice krispies are wheat free, but not gluten-free. If you need gluten-free I've had Erewhorn Crispy Brown Rice Cereal recommended.
Also, I have yet to find candy eyeballs (both Wilton & Betty Crocker) that do not use gelatin, therefore making them not OK for Vegans. Here is a homemade recipe I found. Or, you could simply use the plastic eyeballs found at craft stores, and just not eat them.
Our allergies, while severe and that get re-tested yearly, are such that we can go strictly by what's on the label. I do not call companies to see what things are derived from, or call manufacturers to see about potential cross contact. If your allergies require you to do so, please do your own homework. I cannot assure you of any ingredient's safety, only you can do that. I simply share what works for our family
If you are going to feed this to someone with food allergies, and you yourself do not have food allergies, I HIGHLY recommend having them check every single brand and ingredient you are using, to ensure they're OK with each part of the recipe. And, to make sure you've talked to them about how to avoid cross contamination in your kitchen.
Adapted from: Big Bear’s Wife
DON’T FORGET TO PIN IT, SO YOU DON’T LOSE IT! ALSO, BE SURE TO CHECK OUT MY OTHER ALLERGY-FRIENDLY PINTEREST BOARDS!
Looking for other spooky allergy-friendly treats for Halloween? Here are some of my favorites: