Frankenstein Krispies (Gluten, dairy, egg, soy, peanut & tree nut free; vegan option)
Author: 
Recipe type: Dessert
Prep time: 
Total time: 
Serves: 12
 
These haunted allergy-friendly rice krispies will be the delight of any Halloween party. Easy and no bake--they only require a few additional items to turn them into Frankenstein. Free of gluten, dairy, egg, soy, peanut & tree nuts. Top 8 free and a vegan option too!
Ingredients
Instructions
  1. In a large saucepan over medium-low heat, place your coconut oil.
  2. Once it is melted, add your bag of marshmallows. Stir until the marshmallows have melted and your mixture is smooth. Add in the green food coloring to your liking.
  3. Add in the cereal and stir until all of the cereal is coated.
  4. Pour the cereal into a greased 13x9 pan. Wet your hands and press it until it is flat and molded to the pan's shape.
  5. Allow it to cool while you make Frankenstein's hair (the chocolate dipping).
  6. In a microwave-safe bowl, put the dairy-free chocolate chips and shortening in it. Microwave for 30 seconds at a time, stopping to stir each time until the chocolate is completely melted.
  7. Cut the cooled cereal into rectangles (mine made 12). Reshape as necessary after cutting and removing from the pan.
  8. Dip the top of the rectangle into the chocolate, knocking off any excess. Place it on a pan that is lined with parchment paper or wax paper so it does not stick. Finish doing this to each of the rectangles.
  9. Take the rest of the melted chocolate and place it in a zip top baggie. Snip a tiny corner of the bag. Squeeze out a straight line to form Frankenstein's mouth.
  10. Dip each of the eyeballs into the chocolate, just coating the back side of them. Place two eyeballs on each Frankenstein.
  11. Allow the chocolate to harden (this can be rushed if they're placed in the fridge.)
  12. Serve and enjoy!
Notes
*Regular (or generic brands) of rice krispies are wheat free, but not gluten-free. If you need gluten-free I've had Erewhorn Crispy Brown Rice Cereal recommended.
**Also, I have yet to find candy eyeballs (both Wilton & Betty Crocker) that do not use gelatin, therefore making them not OK for Vegans. Here is a homemade recipe I found. Or, you could simply use the plastic eyeballs found at craft stores, and just not eat them.
***Be sure to use vegan marshmallows too, if you're serving this to a vegan. If not, regular marshmallows work just fine too.
Recipe by Allergy Awesomeness at https://allergyawesomeness.com/frankenstein-krispies/